Skip to content

Seder, Easter and Stomach Gremlins…

April 8, 2010

I woke up yesterday and had a not so nice encounter involving my head being perched on the side of the toilet bowl resulting in me making it in to work to come home again and crawl into bed. The tummy bug gremlins have infiltrated my system. And it seems the only thing I can think of to narrow it down to is the pizza I had for lunch on Tuesday!

I slept/was unconscious for the majority of yesterday, well I say slept, I really felt like I was in some funny sort of limbo where I began processing all of these little details and thinking about the past – secondary school in particular and bits of uni and then some things from here too. It’s odd what happens when ur brain is left to wander whilst ur stomach is in overdrive!

I had a pretty good chat with God yesterday whilst all this was going on too and I kinda feel like i’ve set the record straight with him again. It’s easy to drift off into a place of complacency and sometimes it takes a little suffering and a Father daughter chat to sort that out.

~It’s all good~

As promised I will now tell you a little bit about the Seder meal last week!

Seder means order so technically Seder meal is order meal, in an attempt to be comical I decided that it was the Jewish takeaway of the day especially as the first time it was eaten it literally was ‘fast-food’.

sorry, I wasn't quick enough to think of getting a photo on Thursday so this wll do

Sorry, I wasn't quick enough to think of getting a photo on Thursday so google had to help me!

If you’re sitting there thinking ‘What on earth is a Seder meal?’ don’t worry, so was I until a couple of hours before I showed up for it. On talking to my office buddy Richard I discovered that Seder is a meal that remembers the events of the Passover.

Remember the story from Sunday school or the one you might have picked up during school RE lessons about Pharoah and all the plagues that hit Egypt?

You know the one, where that guy Moses is called by God to go and tell Pharaoh to let the Israelites go. On hearing the command Pharaoh flat out refuses and provokes plagues of locusts, frogs, death of cattle, boils, flies, lice, hail, darkness and the water becoming became blood.

Then the dramatic finale the death of the firstborn that finally brought Pharoah to his knees and changed his answer. Get the full story here.

Well at that time there were followers of God in Egypt, the Israelites, who were slaves of Pharoah. Everytime a plague affected the Egyptians it didn’t affect those who were followers of God, the Jews. The seder meal retells the story of old, it’s very much part of the Jewish faith and tradition.

So what am I, a Christian, doing at a Jewish celebration? Well, my Jesus was a Jew, growing up as a child he would have taken part in the retelling of the Passover story every year with his family. The only difference to our meal today is the fact that we are remembering what happened at the Passover, celebrating the deliverance of the Israelites from Egypt and remembering the sacrifice that Jesus made years later on the cross. The difference between Jews and Christians… Jewish people are still waiting for the Christ to come.

So after the Passover remembrance on Thursday we had our Good Friday service on (you’ve guessed it) Friday  where we remember the death of Jesus and his amazing sacrifice to deliver us from our sin and remove the barrier of sin between man and God!

After that we have the the Easter Sunday service where we celebrated Christ rising from the dead!

Belting out the last him ‘In Christ alone, my hope is found!’ was awesome. The church was packed out and (as always) I got the tingles when we got to the bit:

‘No guilt in life, no fear in death, this is the power of Christ in me. From life’s first cry, to final breath Jesus commands my destiny! No power of Hell, no scheme of man, can ever pluck me from his hands! ‘Til he returns, or calls me home, here in the power of Christ I’ll stand!’ 

2 Comments leave one →
  1. somethingcrazy permalink
    April 8, 2010 10:13 pm

    You mean, amongst all the varied Nepali food you have been consuming over the past few months, it was a pizza which finally got you? Unbelievable… guess you’ll just have to avoid those when you come back then 😛

    Hope you’re feeling better now, see you soon!

    • Claire permalink*
      April 9, 2010 6:17 am

      I know! how odd is that hehe! *sigh* no more pizza for me lol! =) feeling a little better today thnx !

Leave a Reply

