Skip to content

Postcards from home..

March 29, 2010

To encourage: to inspire with courage, spirit, or confidence.

I love getting post, I always have done, but there’s something about receiving it here in nepal that is waaay more exciting.

I love getting post – knowing someone has thought of me back home and decided to write me a letter, card or even parcel (!) is great!

This week God showed me that he knows me so completely, that he even knows the joy get from receiving this kind of communication. Everyday on my way in and out of the office I can’t help but check my pigeon holde. Even if I know there’s nothing there it’s become something automatic that I do.

Last Monday afternoon… I got post!

So I went over, grabbed the envelopes and opened them all. Inside three envelopes were three postcards.

Normally when you get a letter you know who has sent it, or you at least have a vague idea of who sent it. But these postcards were from three different people in the same church that I don’t know. They had just decided to send me a postcard each to say:

Letters from home!

A few letters from home alongside my encouraging postcards!

We’re praying for you! Thank You for the work you are doing and keep working for God!

Now that particular day had been a long one! I was tired, I just wanted to go home and I hadn’t got much work done so it hadn’t been a very successful day either.

Walking down those stairs to my pigeon hole I was feeling like it had just been ‘One of those days!’ God, in his perfect wisdom and timing knew exactly how i’d be feeling and used people from Pinhoe Road Baptist Church (PRBC)to encourage me!

I figured this was pretty cool and I could use this as an example of encouragement to bring to the prayer meeting I should have been presenting on Monday (today!)

Thinking over the weekend I wondered how I could make that work, there were plenty of people in the Bible who wrote letters to encourage each other, take Paul, Peter, James, Jude to name just a few.

I woke up really early this morning for some reason and found my link and answer in 1Peter 2 v 9-12 :

  But you are a chosen people, a royal priesthood, a holy nation, a people belonging to God, that you may declare the praises of him who called you out of darkness into his wonderful light.

10Once you were not a people, but now you are the people of God; once you had not received mercy, but now you have received mercy.

11Dear friends, I urge you, as aliens and strangers in the world, to abstain from sinful desires, which war against your soul.

12Live such good lives among the pagans that, though they accuse you of doing wrong, they may see your good deeds and glorify God on the day he visits us.

The following was Peters letter to the churches in Rome. I love it. Even the way he addresses this letter is awesome and relates to me today:

      To God’s elect, strangers in the world, scattered throughout Pontus, Galatia, Cappadocia, Asia and Bithynia, 2who have been chosen according to the foreknowledge of God the Father, through the sanctifying work of the Spirit, for obedience to Jesus Christ and sprinkling by his blood:
      Grace and peace be yours in abundance.

Peter didn’t know each individual person he was writing to but the words he wrote were intended to encourage each and every persecuted Christian in the churches he was writing to. What an awesome guy!

It makes me feel like i’ve been subject to a modern day letter from Peter via Rosemary, Andy and Christine from (PRBC).

These modern day praying disciples brought me encouragement and I was reminded through 1James that the first Christians needed encouragement just like the current generations of people do!

Peter wanted the churches to know that they hadn’t been forgotten, he wanted to encourage them to avoid sin and KEEP ON GOING for Christ!

Even though life can be tough God gives us the gift of encouragers to help us through the day!

I asked the group today – after my garbled message, where I didn’t stick to any of my notes, went completely beetroot red and spoke reaaally fast – to take a piece of paper, write their name on the bottom and then pass it to the next person. That person then wrote something encouraging to the first person and passed the paper on. We did this until we’d gone all the way around the circle of about 13 people.

Everyone left after prayers clutching a small piece of A5 with some encouragement to take into today.

I learnt this week that it’s important to encourage people – even if we don’t know who they are. It’s too easy to take a negative about someone and run with it, I’m challenged this Easter week to find the positives in people – and not just in the people I love!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. pinkpointeshoes permalink
    March 29, 2010 11:29 am

    Hi Purple,

    I loved reading this and hearing that you are still being constantly encouraged! My night doing the talk at the group is now on the 25th April, and sopmething tells me I’ll be following your example…I to will garbling the message, not sticking to any of my notes, going completely beetroot red and speaking reaaally fast…trust me in that, you are not alone!

    Love you lots

    x

    • Claire permalink*
      March 29, 2010 11:33 am

      Glad i’m not the onli one… just talking to our German purple hehe all the purples are online =) I am sure you will ROCK at what ur gonna say! ur totally awesome like that! =) It went oki this morning, people seemed to like it so was all good =) God’s pretty awesome huh 😀

      Love u too purple! not long now! xxx

  2. Hannah Banks permalink
    March 29, 2010 11:36 am

    Glad to see you are being encouraged! I still have the Encouragement you gave me in the first week of our trip in Brazil, it still makes me smile, Thank you for being so lovely!!!!

    • Claire permalink*
      March 29, 2010 11:38 am

      Aww I am so glad you have that Han! I’d completely forgotten about that little bit of yellow card! hehe It’s lovely people like you that taught me to be lovely too! xx

Leave a Reply

