Skip to content

Week 17 – Why aren’t you married?!

February 24, 2010

Fields of GoldIn Nepal, when you meet someone, they like to ask key questions of you. It starts with the obvious what’s your name, country, job and sometimes age and then as the day progresses they work up to the question ‘Where’s your husband?’

See here, I am pretty much waaaay to old to be un-married. With some children having arranged marriages from the age of 12 by 23 I am waaay past my sell-by!

The other day we, Rowan, Jiwan, Comal,Sangita, Russell, Roz and I went out to meet some of the villagers of community development projects in Rapti-Pari and then to some Displaced people’s projects in Colpaur (Two places within a few hrs of Nepalgunj).

So we meet the villagers, smile, ask questions about their projects and get a tour of a village. We see goat herding and chicken keeping and various village activities that have been supported in one way or another. I love this – Just as we round the pig pens, so Rowan can take some photo’s, I realise I am being talked about. The approx 15 villagers we are with have taken to discussing my marital status.

Jiwan lets me in on the conversation by asking their questions for them, ‘They want to know how old you are,’ he says. ‘I’m 23,’ I offer back. ‘and your husband?,’ … ‘I’m not married,’ I reply to an interested murmur from the crowd. After approx ten seconds one of the women comes out with ‘You should marry a Nepali-man!’

After uproarous laughter from both sides… I slowly backed away!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. somethingcrazy permalink
    February 26, 2010 7:54 am

    Don’t worry, you’re far from past your sell-by! But it’s not just a Nepali thing, it’s a Christian thing as well… I’m also 23, and apparantly I should be married by now as well!

    P.s. Don’t marry a Nepali-man… nothing against them, but we’d quite like you to come back…

  2. Ann Page permalink
    February 28, 2010 10:27 am

    All sounds very familiar! It doesn’t get any better if you ARE married … “why haven’t you got any children? Don’t you know how to do it?” !!!!!

    Glad to hear you are having a good time. Am Lent fasting form FB

Leave a Reply

